This title is true....I am not a runner! That being said, I am so proud to say that I finished my 10k. I have done several 5k races and I knew that 10k was "only 6 miles or so" so I thought it would be fine. I researched races here in Ireland and found one that wasn't far from where we were staying. I kept telling myself that I would start walking every day to get ready. I told myself that nearly time and time again and never did anything about it. I kind of regret that part....I don't regret doing the race, but I really should have put some time into training. 😅
We had to get up rather early because the race was about 1.5 hours from our rental. I guess I was full of nerves because I couldn't get to sleep until about 1am and had to get up at 6am. The number pick up was from 9-10 and we got there right about 9. We were incredibly happy to find a parking spot right by the hotel (the Ashe hotel was where we had to pick up numbers). The guy there told me that if I found a spot there, "Don't let that one go!" The 10k is part of a festival there called the Rose Festival. They have a beauty pageant and the winner is the "Rose of Tralee." Parking is never easy to find...especially here, but during a festival, it is even harder! The end of the race was also just a couple blocks from this hotel as well which made it an even better spot. The guy who gave me my number gave me a map of the city (that didn't have street names listed on it) and kind of showed me where to go. We went in the general vacinity (the Aqua Dome) and asked a guy working in the parking lot if he knew where the "Wetlands park" was. He told me it was easy, "Just go down that road and you'll run right into it." Well, we walked and walked and walked. Did I mention the fact that it was pouring rain? I mean raining cats and dogs...water was running down my hair and I think my sweatshirt weighed 10 extra pounds. Anyway, after walking for probably 1/2 a mile and not finding the place, we turned around. I went into an office and asked the girl at the desk and she drew me a small map. The park was across the street from the Aqua Dome.....I could see it from the parking lot where we asked the guy. GRRRRR!!
We were the first ones at the park (well, the first for the race). We went inside to get out of the rain and Katie started crying. We finally got out of her why she was crying...."I don't want to run a race." Apparently, she thought that all of us were doing the race. LOL! Once we informed her that it was only me, she was good. The rain finally decided to stop about a half hour before the race started. I got in the mix of runners and tried to stay near the back. I am not a runner...did I say that already? I started to jog the race. Most people flew past me and I was cool with that. There were these 2 ladies who were walking and I jogged past them (and overheard them say that they would be last). I ran the way I was supposed to go and they took a short cut...and got in front of me! This kind of bugged me but they just laughed when I called them cheaters. The three of us became friends during the race, Dierdre, Caroline and me. 🙂 It wasn't long before I started walking. *If you remember from the beginning, I didn't train. The three of us walked most of the race and I think they knew everything about me by the end. They were very interested in this crazy American woman who took a day of her holiday to run (well, walk) in a race.
About 5 miles into the race, my feet (well, toes to be more precise) really started to hurt. I am thankful for my new friends because they kept me going. Right around the time we reached 5.5 miles, Dierdre's husband joined us. He had finished the race and came to find his wife so he could finish again with her. I thought it was adorable! I was telling him about the guy who sent me in the wrong direction and he just shook his head. "He likely sent you wrong because he thought it would be great craic!" I just laughed and said it was my fault for not knowing where to go. He had different thoughts on the subject though. "You might be some at fault, but it is young people not having respect." I almost think he was insinuating I was old, but I'm not sure. 😉
We got near the finish line so I started jogging. Doesn't everyone who walked most of a race jog at the end? I thought my friends were going to join me, but they just shouted, "Go, Missy! You take this!" I crossed the line to my kids and husband (and a couple other random people) cheering. It was kind of cool.
I am so glad that I did it! I have my medal from a race in Ireland. Because my friends chose to not run, I did not come in last place. And, because I didn't have my shoes laced tightly enough, I believe I am going to lose both my big toe nails. It was rather an exciting day. 😀
No comments:
Post a Comment